God’s Hand During that Limbo period

So 3 weeks ago I graduated from high school.

That’s a pretty big statement right there. I think it speaks for itself. But…if it doesn’t, I will proceed. You can imagine now that the crazy week is over that I am finally settling into summer. Except that I’m not. Well, not entirely well that is. These past four years I have been a part of Winnacunnet high school: to the sports teams, my wonderful teachers, my classmates and friends, and all of the clubs. Now suddenly I’m in limbo mode.

Anyone who knows me we’ll knows that I hate disorganization. That’s exactly how I feel now:disorganized. I’m no longer a part of Winnacunnet, but not yet a true Crusader at Holy Cross. I guess what is really different is that going into high school, I was going in with my twin sister, my best friends, and even my family. This time, I’m going in alone, and I’m (a little) scared.

Then I remembered something that made it a little better: I am Yours. As in- I am God ‘s . Perhaps we don’t always have to be a part of something. Maybe it is during awkward transitions like these when God wants to remind us that first and foremost we are more than students, but daughters and sons of God.

Jeremiah 1:5 says: “I knew you before informed you in your mother’s womb. Before you were born I set you apart.”

 So before we were students, teachers, nurses, daughters within our own families, we already belonged. I think that often times we get so comfortable feeling like we belong. Of course this isn’t a bad thing. This sense of love and support is important for our growth as a human being. However we must not forget where our true and foremost belonging lies- in the one who made us, because He is constant.

So I just recently bought this super comfortable purple sweatshirt from Holy Cross. For everyone reading this who has purchased college merchandise, you must understand the thrill that is buying the sweatshirts, the T-shirts, and the rugbies (which unfortunately are much too expensive for my budget.) As I was wearing it around my house the other day, I was thinking of how excited I was to put it on everyday. After coming home from my college orientation, I was so ecstatic about my decision to attend Holy Cross. It was as if I was finally truly realizing that indeed this was the perfect school for me whether it was the sense of welcome I felt there from the upperclassmen or the philosophies of the academics.

But then I stopped myself in my pure joy. Why is it that I get so excited about a sweatshirt and not nearly as excited when I put on a cross necklace? Or how about when I walk into church every Sunday? Is it because I have become bored with all of it? It is weird that often times we forget that we have just as an exciting of a community with our parish, with the Trinity, and with the angels and saints? In fact, I have been making more of an effort to try and communicate with this family by getting to know the saints more. (Some of my favorites include St. Michael the Archangel and Mary the Mother of God.) Unlike our school families, which come and go every few years, our eternal family in Heaven will always be with us.

Hebrews 3:18 reinforces this idea of God as our constant rock. 

“Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.” 

Or, better yet as Revelation 1:8 says…God is our rock for all seasons.

“I am the Alpha and the Omega,” says the Lord God, “who is, and who was, and who is to come, the Almighty.” 

Do I still feel uneasy about this transition? Yes if course, but I know that my constant, my rock,-my loving God will help me through it and bring me to a new family at Holy Cross.

I want to leave you with a prayer I came upon that asks God for help during a time if change. Hopefully, it will help you too !

 

a prayer for when things are changing in your life

 

Leave a Reply

