Weak in the Knees at the Foot of the Cross

So I’m a bit late in finally posting this blog, which I originally drafted about three months ago, but here goes! :

This past week, God has definitely challenged me and transformed my heart in ways that I could not imagine.

Tuesday was one of the busiest days I have had this semester at Holy Cross, but when I went to the chapel on Tuesday (which is the first time I have intentionally sought out the chapel as a quiet place to pray), something felt so right. The silence was one of the most incredible experiences ever and just being with Jesus for those 15 minutes was refreshing and invigorating.

I tell my twin sister Mandy that when we finally talk after four days or more, I remember how much I miss her. I think this is the same way with Jesus. When I finally go to talk with him, I remember what it feels like to be at peace-outside the business, worries, concerns, and doubts in my own everyday life. I forget what it is like to talk so intimately with my best friend-I forget about my best friend.

Wednesday the Lord helped me through some very personal struggles. Like most people, I hate going to talk to my therapist about my anxieties, and every time, I feel like I should have my life together. Clearly, like most people, I do not have my life together. I get nervous every time I go. Why? Because like most everyone, I hate talking about my weaknesses, which is why Thursday was so important for me.
Not only did I sit with God in adoration, but I forced myself to go to confession. For the first time, I began to understand God’s mercy and how it applies to my life. Jesus did not die with great pride and strength. In fact, he died in great weakness, relying totally on the Father for strength. The cross is not a cross of bold strength and courage, but bold weakness and frailty. Of course he didn’t have to die this way, but he willingly chose to, so that when we are weak, he can live with us in solidarity.

I always thought that I had to be strong. Thankfully, now I know that I don’t have to be, because as Jesus shows us in dying on the cross, God will be strong for us.

When I came across this bible verse, I just thought that it was the most beautiful thing that I have ever read:

“When I came to you, brothers, proclaiming the mystery of God, I did not come with sublimity of words or of wisdom. For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ, and him crucified. I came to you in weakness and fear and much trembling, and my message and my proclamation were not with persuasive words of wisdom, but with a demonstration of spirit and power, so that your faith might rest not on human wisdom but on the power of God.”

-Corinthians 2:1-5

But wait, doesn’t the bible tell us to be strong? (Philippians 4:13). Yes, of course God tells us to be strong, but the key thing about strength is that it does not come from us, but from God:

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

2 Corinthians 12:9-10

Taken from: http://larry-cole.artistwebsites.com/featured/love-larry-cole.html

And if you don’t take my word for it-please check out these other incredibly awesome bible verses on the power of God’s strength, which takes root in our weaknesses:

http://www.biblestudytools.com/topical-verses/strength-bible-verses/

Let’s pray this week for each other’s weaknesses-that the strength of God may help us overcome today.

Peace,

Cassie

Leave a Reply

